CASS COUNTY DEMOCRATS CONVENTION MINUTES

MAY 20, 2024

Social hour, including remarks from the following candidates:

- Dan Osborn for US Senate
- Maggie Douglas for Nebraska State Board of Education
- Carol Blood for US Congress
- Mike Slattery for County Commissioner
 - I. Call to Order
 - a. Welcoming remarks from Cass County Democrats Chair, Mark Minchow.
 - b. Convention called to order at 7:13 p.m. by Jayden Speed.
 - II. Pledge of Allegiance
 - III. Seating of Delegates
 - a. Roll call of delegates. 20 delegates in attendance. Motion to seat passed.
 - IV. Election of Convention Chair & Convention Secretary
 - a. Convention Chair
 - i. Jayden Speed was elected as Convention Chair.
 - b. Convention Secretary
 - i. Wendy Callahan was elected as Convention Secretary.
 - V. Election of County Party Officers
 - a. County Chair
 - i. Sarah Slattery was elected as County Chair.
 - b. Vice Chair
 - i. Jayden Speed was elected as Vice Chair.
 - c. Secretary
 - i. Wendy Callahan was elected as Secretary.
 - d. Treasurer
 - i. Brandy Jordan was elected as Treasurer.

VI. Election of State Convention Delegates & Alternates

a. The Nebraska State Democratic Party Convention is June 7 – June 9 in Hastings, Nebraska. The following delegates were elected on behalf of Cass County (8 Biden delegates; 0 Phillips delegates):

- i. Mark Minchow
- ii. Jayden Speed
- iii. Terry Tilson
- iv. Michelle Bates
- v. Sophia Tegels
- vi. Melinda Mead
- vii. Marsha Babcock
- viii. Bernie Glaser (after convention)
- VII. Adoption of Constitution & Bylaws of the Cass County Democratic Party

a. Copies of the proposed Constitution and Bylaws of the Cass County Democratic Party were provided to all convention attendees. The Chair advised that these are new documents and opened the floor to discussion. Motion to adopt Constitution and Bylaws passed.

- VIII. Announcements
 - a. The floor was opened to announcements and remarks.

b. Michael Mace of Stonewall Democrats shared that their fundraising gala, the Lavender Gala, is June 2.

c. Outgoing Chair, Mark Minchow, gave departing remarks, thanking the officers for their work.

d. Incoming Vice Chair, Jayden Speed, thanked the outgoing officers for their years of dedication in leading Cass County Democrats.

IX. Adjournment